2022 Recreational Shellfish Permits are now for sale at the Town Hall


Recreational Shellfish License Information

A Recreational Shellfish License is purchased yearly and valid for the calendar year. Only one license is issued per household and anyone in the immediate family may carry said permit on his/her person during its use. Licenses may be purchased at the Natural Resources office during regular business hours.

*Please refer to the Recreational Shellfish Regulations for shellfish size, harvest days, and quantities.* 

How to Obtain a Rec. Shellfish License

  • Dennis Residents over 70 years of age: $3.00 per calendar year
  • Dennis Residents: $20.00 per calendar year
  • Non-Residents: $65.00 per calendar year
  • Non-Resident Veterans (BRAVE Act): Resident Fees ($20.00 for household or $3.00 for over 70 individuals).  A MA drivers license and proof of having served in the military is required at the time of purchase

Dennis residents need to bring their driver's license and one additional form of documentation with the Dennis address on it such as a current property tax bill or utility bills.

Cash or checks are accepted.

If you are renewing your shellfish license from the previous year, please bring in your current shellfish license and we will update it with a new valid sticker for the calendar year.

If you missed a year or more of renewal, you will need to bring in your driver's license and one additional form of documentation with the Dennis address on it.

Commercial Shellfish License Information

A Commercial Shellfish License is purchased yearly between the months of January - March at the Natural Resources office.

The cost for this license is $250.00 and must be accompanied with an      application form and a Commercial license from the Division of Marine Fisheries.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Karen M. Johnson Director of Natural Resources (508) 760-6123
Amber Salvage Shellfish Constable (508) 760-6123

Shellfish Committee Members

Name Title
John Lowell Member
Carl Howard Member
Glen Morrell Chair
Robert Pickering Member
Ray Ward Member
Aaron Brochu Member
Steve Drowne Member
Jeffrey Doyle Alternate